Centre For Distance Education
Vice Chancellor:

Prof. Tariq Mansoor
Vice Chancellor,
Aligarh Muslim University ,

Brief Profile

Prof. Tariq Mansoor is presently serving as the Vice-Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh. Previously he has also served as Principal, J.N. Medical College, Chief Medical Superintendent, J.N. Medical College Hospital and Chairman, Department of Surgery. He is also the member of Medical Council of India since March 2015 for a period of four years. He is product of the first batch of prestigious Our Lady of Fatima Higher Secondary School, Aligarh. During his school days he has served as House Captain as well as School Captain. He did his MBBS and MS in General Surgery from Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, AMU, Aligarh. A surgeon by profession with special interest in Breast and Thyroid Diseases, Prof. Tariq Mansoor has 33 years of Teaching and 35 years of Clinical experience. He has 90 publications to his credit and has guided 47 Postgraduate Medical Students for their Thesis as Supervisor / Co-Supervisor.

Prof. Tariq Mansoor has the distinction of having been a elected member of the Executive Council, Aligarh Muslim University for a total period of 12 years. He has been the President of the Association of Surgeons of India, UPASI from 2010-2011 and Honorary Secretary, AMU Teachers Association from 1997-1999.

He has been the recipient of the esteemed "Eminent Senior Surgical Teacher of UP" Award for 2013 by Association of Surgeons of India (UPASI). He has served as Chairman/ Convener / Member of various Administrative / Academic Committees of the University as well as organizations other than AMU.

He has served as Member of Selection Committees of Teaching Staff in various universities including King George Medical University, Lucknow, Institute of Medical Sciences, BHU, Varanasi and various AIIMS (Bhopal, Rishikesh, Jodhpur, Patna, Raipur, and Bhubaneswar) Union Public Service Commission etc.

A keen Sportsperson, he has also served on the prestigious position of Secretary, University Games Committee from 2007 to 2014 as well as President of AMU Tennis Club.